download free 30 days trial version buy bucket explorer
Documentation  Download  Purchase  Support  FAQs   Forum   ScreenShots & Demos

Bucket Default Amazon S3 Metadata

Set default Metadata option helps you to set default custom header or user Metadata for all the files of a specified Amazon S3 bucket and to edit and remove existing default custom header/user Metadata. Once you set default on any Bucket, it will be applied on each of the uploading S3 files automatically. You can also set the Storage-Class while setting the Bucket default. It will set the Storage-Class to REDUCED_REDUNDANCY for all the objects that will be uploaded into the same Bucket.


Set default Amazon S3 Metadata on Bucket : This option is used to set the default Amazon S3 Metadata for all files and folders in the Bucket. You can add and remove custom header/user Metadata from setting. After setting default, whenever you upload any file, the default setting is applied on the file that is being uploaded.

Edit default Amazon S3 Metadata on bucket : This option is used to edit Bucket default setting.

Remove default Amazon S3 Metadata on bucket : This option is used to remove Bucket default setting.

ˆ If you want to set bucket default and custom headers/user Metadata, follow the steps below:

  1. Start Bucket Explorer and connect with your Amazon S3 Account .
  2. Select desired bucket where you want to set default header.
  3. Right click on desired bucket and choose Bucket Default option or choose Default  at bucket toolbar.
  4. Click on Set Default .
  5. A window for Set Default will be seen having three panels for setting default ACL, Metadata, and Storage Policy panel on Bucket.
  6. In the middle panel, there are two buttons to Add and Remove Metadata.
  7. Click on " Add " to add new Default Custom Header.
  8. Enter Key and Value .
  9. Set the value of the check box named Use Reduced Redundancy Storage in the lower panel to true if you want to set the storage class for all objects that will be uploaded in the specified Bucket.
  10. Click " OK " and then " Save ".
  11. You will see bucketexplorerbucketdefault_$bucketname$.xml in object listing.
    Note : You can also set Default ACLs (Permission) on the upper panel of Set Default window.

ˆ   If you want to edit Defaults custom headers/user Metadata, follow the steps below:

  1. Run Bucket Explorer.
  2. Select desired Bucket for which you want to set default custom header.
  3. Right click on desired Bucket.
  4. Choose Bucket Defaults option.
  5. Click on Edit Defaults.
  6. It will prompt you with "Are you sure you want to Edit the bucket default settings: $Bucket Name$" with " Yes " and " No " button.
  7. Click on " Yes " to edit default
  8. A window for Edit Default will be seen having three panels for editing Default ACL, Metadata, and Storage Policy panel on Bucket. This window shows existing Default ACLs and Metadata.
  9. Click on " Add " to add new Default Custom Header.
  10. Click on " Remove " to remove selected existing Default Custom Header.
  11. Set the value of the checkbox named Use Reduced Redundancy Storage in the lower panel to true if you want to set the storage class for all the objects that will be uploaded in the specified Bucket.
  12. Click " OK " and then " Save ".
  13. Now you’ve edited default setting of Bucket.

ˆ   If you want to remove Default custom headers/user Metadata, follow the steps below:

  1. Run Bucket Explorer.
  2. Select desired Bucket for which you have set default custom header.
  3. Right click on selected Bucket and choose Bucket Default option or choose Default option from bucket toolbar.
  4. Click on Remove Default .
  5. It will prompt you with “Are you sure you want to remove bucket default settings: $Bucket Name$ " with " Yes " and " No " button.
  6. Click " YES " to remove default. This will remove Default metadata and ACL settings on the Bucket.
  7. Refresh Object Listing.
  8. Now there will be no bucketexplorerbucketdefault_$bucketname$.xml in object listing.

Note :  If bucketexplorerbucketdefault_$bucketname$.xml gets deleted accidentally, Bucket Default setting will stop working and will not be applied on newly uploaded files and folders.