download free 30 days trial version buy bucket explorer
Documentation  Download  Purchase  Support  FAQs   Forum   ScreenShots & Demos

Prevent Amazon S3 Data Loss by Version and Trash Feature of Bucket Explorer

System Buckets are special Buckets generated ONLY by Bucket Explorer to keep track of deleted & updated files. There are two System Buckets named as us.bucketexplorer.(SHA1 of Canonical Id) and eu.bucketexplorer.(SHA1 of Canonical Id) available for the same purpose. This feature is cost effective because empty buckets do not cost money.

us.bucketexplorer.(SHA1 of Canonical Id) keeps track of the different operations performed on all US regions Buckets. And eu.bucketexplorer.(SHA1of Canonical Id) is for all the buckets created in Europe regions only.

Note: In older version of BucketExplorer 2009.10, system bucket names were us.bucketexplorer.(SHA1of Access Key) and eu.bucketexplorer.(SHA1of Access Key).Using this feature, you can retrieve all deleted file(s) and older versions of overwritten file(s) in the same structure as it is stored in your Bucket.

You can download , copy , move and delete data from the system buckets using Bucket Explorer but can not upload, copy and move data in these buckets explicitly. Anything deleted from the system Buckets is permanently deleted and you don't need to use another third party tool for this.

In the System Bucket, there are 3 folders:

  1. Versions
  2. Trash
  3. Work Area
  1. Versions Folder of System Bucket: Whenever you overwrite existing files on Amazon S3, the older versions of those files are moved automatically in versions folder of system bucket. You can download, copy, move and delete data from the versions folder using Bucket Explorer.  
  2. Trash folder of System Bucket: Whenever you delete any file from S3 with "Move to Trash" option, deleted objects are automatically moved to trash folder of System Bucket. This is especially useful to prevent data loss. (It's like Recycle Bin). Nothing will ever go in "Trash" folder if you choose Quick Delete.  
  3. WorkArea: Workarea is a temporary folder in Bucket Explorer used when you copy the objects from one S3 account to another S3 account using Bucket Explorer.  

Note: System buckets are created only when you perform operations like move to trash, copy, move, and upload files of less than 5 GB in size in multiparts corresponding to its region end-point.

Amazon s3 versioning: Keep version of overwritten files to preserve older data

Using this feature you can retrieve older version of overwritten file(s) in same structure [1] as it is stored in your Bucket . Versions folder is stored in two default System Buckets named as us.bucketexplorer.SHA1 ( Canonical Id [3] ) and eu.bucketexplorer.SHA1 (Canonical Id). This feature is cost effective because empty buckets do not cost money.

If you delete versions from the system Buckets, they will be deleted permanently from S3 server and you don't need to use another third party tool for this.

Versioning of Overwritten Amazon S3 files ( Note : This is possible only when Amazon S3 versioning is 'Disable', then Bucket Explorer handles its own versioning using System buckets. )

Whenever you Upload , Copy or Move existing files on S3 then the older versions of those files are moved automatically in versions folder of relevant system bucket [2] . Data goes in the versions only when a file with same name and with different content is uploaded.

Versioning feature preserves versions of Amazon S3 files when you overwrite files of same name. You can Download , Copy , Move and Delete data from the versions folder using Bucket Explorer.


  1. ˆ Same structure: In version folder of system bucket, Bucket Explorer creates a folder named as Bucket name from where you deleted object, in this folder there will be the same folder structure as in Bucket and object name in folders gets appended with date and time.
  2. ˆ Relevant system bucket: There are two system buckets in Bucket Explorer for US and Europe, version of US buckets get stored in us.bucketexplorer.SHA1 (Canonical Id) and version of Europe buckets get stored in eu.bucketexplorer.SHA1 (Canonical Id).
  3. ˆ Canonical Id: The canonical user id is specific to S3 and is a 64 character long hex string.

Amazon S3 data backup: Preserve deleted data in trash to prevent data loss

Using this feature you can retrieve all deleted file(s) in same structure [1] as it is stored in your Bucket. In Bucket Explorer, trash folder is located in two default system Buckets named as us.bucketexplorer.md5. ( Canonical Id [3] ) and eu.bucketexplorer.md5 (Canonical Id). This feature is cost effective because empty buckets don't cost money.

If you delete anything from the system Buckets, it will be deleted permanently and you don't need to use another third party tool for this.
How Trash Works for Amazon S3 Buckets/ Files and Folders: ( Note : This is possible only when Amazon S3 versioning is 'Disable', then Bucket Explorer handles its own versioning. )

Whenever you delete any file from Amazon S3 with "Move to Trash" option then deleted objects are automatically moved to trash folder of relevant system bucket [2] . This is especially useful to prevent data loss. (It's like Recycle Bin). Nothing will ever go in "Trash" folder if you choose Quick Delete .

In simple delete also if you choose "move to trash", then only data will go to the "trash" folder. So if you don't want to send deleted object in trash, you can choose the "delete permanently" instead of "move to trash". You can download, copy, move and delete data from the Trash folder using Bucket Explorer.


  1. ˆ Same structure: In system bucket, Bucket Explorer creates a folder named as Bucket name from where you deleted object, in this folder there will be the same folder structure as in Bucket and object name in folders gets appended with date and time.
  2. ˆ Relevant system bucket: There are two system buckets in Bucket Explorer for US and Europe, version of US buckets get stored in us.bucketexplorer.md5 (Canonical Id) and version of Europe buckets get stored in eu.bucketexplorer.md5 (Canonical Id).
  3. ˆ Canonical Id: The canonical user id is specific to S3 and is a 64 character long hex string.