download free 30 days trial version buy bucket explorer
Documentation  Download  Purchase  Support  FAQs   Forum   ScreenShots & Demos

Right click options on Amazon S3 Bucket

right click option on amazon s3 bucket

  1. Create Bucket:

    This option simply creates a new bucket . You need to enter bucket name in " Bucket Name " window and choose the location of the bucket where you want to create it. Currently, you can create buckets in  US EU (Ireland) US West (Northern California) US West (Oregon), Asia Pacific (Singapore), Asia Pacific (Tokyo) and South America (Sao Paulo)  Region  . If your desired name of bucket already exists, you will be notified with error message and few suggested names matching to your request are displayed. You can go with one of the suggestions or look for a different title.
  2. List All Versions:

    Now Amazon S3 allows you to list all versions of S3 objects which are overwritten and deleted by you. For this, you need to enable S3 versioning for the S3 bucket.
  3. Add Third Party Bucket:

    This option allows you to add shared bucket in your bucket list so you can access shared bucket for further operations.
  4. Delete Bucket:

    • Bucket Delete :

      This option prompts you with  "Are you sure you want to delete the bucket #bucket name# ?" with options to " Delete " and " don't delete ". Clicking on delete button prompts you to make sure you want to delete with two buttons to " Move to trash ", and " Don't delete ". You may keep the version of deleted items in trash.
    • Quick Delete :

      This option prompts you with " Are you sure you want to delete the bucket #bucket name# ? " with options to " Delete " and " don't delete ". Clicking on delete button deletes the bucket permanently.  Upon completion of the delete process, you will find a button named " Save result to file ". It will save the delete history to CSV file at temporary path.
  5. Refresh Bucket Listing:

    This option is used to refresh the listing of bucket in your Amazon S3 account.
  6. Upload File(s):

    Using this option, user can send files from local system to Amazon S3 account . The files to be uploaded must be specified in file dialog box that opens as soon as you click on Upload File(s) . After selecting, click on OK button to start the upload process in queue .
  7. Download File(s):

    This option allows you to download the whole bucket on a specified location of Local file system, process will be in queue.
  8. Export to CSV:

    This option allows you to export details of all objects of Bucket in CSV format.
  9. Update Storage type:

    This option allows you to change the Storage-Class of an object from STANDARD to REDUCED_REDUNDANCY and vice-versa.
  10. Update bucket's Access Control List :

    This option gives you access to ACLs of a particular bucket. Here, you can not only see your ACLs but you can also update them. ACLs are an excellent way to control the way buckets are accessed by other Amazon users and normal users.
    • Remove User :

      By " Remove User " option you can remove the invited user for buckets. Since permission is controlled by ACLs, removal is reflected in ACL. Once a user has been removed, he/she will not have any type of access permissions.
  11. Bucket Default :

    • Set default :

      This option is used to set the defaults for all files and folders of a Bucket. You can add and remove custom header in setting. After setting default, whenever you upload any file, defaults are set on the file being uploaded.
    • Remove default :

      This option is used to remove Bucket defaults setting.
    • Edit default :

      This option is used to edit Bucket defaults setting.
  12. Notifications:

    This option allows you to add, list and disable S3 Notifications on a specified bucket.
  13. Update Requester pays:

    This option allows you to set or remove Requester pays on your Amazon S3 bucket.
  14. Bucket Logging :

    • Set logging :

      With this option, you can log all the activities on a specific bucket. Bucket Explorer will show you bucket logging window in which you need to choose the bucket name where Amazon will deliver logs. Bucket Explorer will also show bucket logging status. If bucket logging status is enabled, you will see the log delivery bucket name where Amazon is storing the log of that bucket. You can also specify log prefix by which you can easily classify and recognize your log. By default, Bucket Explorer uses the selected bucket name as log prefix. To activate logging for a bucket, you need to right click and choose " Bucket Logging" option on a bucket name.
    • Remove Bucket Logging :

      You can disable or remove bucket logging for already logged bucket. To disable bucket logging, right click on the bucket and choose " Remove Bucket Logging " option.
  15. Manage Distribution:

    To make Amazon CloudFront recognize your objects in origin server, you need to create a distribution, which is a link between an Amazon S3 bucket ( the origin server ) and a domain name ( which Amazon CloudFront automatically assigns ). To create a distribution use this option and set a configuration where you specify Bucket name, CNAME(s), Comment, and Enable/Disable. In configuration CNAME(s) and Comment are optional.
  16. Versioning :

    • Set :

      By enabling S3 versioning , you are able to preserve and retrieve overwritten and deleted object(s) in your bucket. You can enable this feature by setting S3 versioning on bucket.
    • Remove :

      You can remove S3 versioning by remove option.
  17. Select right side to compare :

    This option sets the selected Bucket to compare with local files and folders, " compare to " option of right click menu of local file and folder becomes activated then.
  18. Compare to :

    It remains inactivate until you set any local file or folder to compare using " select right side to compare " option of their right click menu. When it gets activated you can compare the left folder/ file with it, name of the file/ folder are also added as the suffix with the option's name.
  19. Properties :

    This option displays the general properties of the selected Bucket such as Bucket name, owner name, Total Size, Bucket location etc.

Related Topics :