download free 30 days trial version buy bucket explorer
Documentation  Download  Purchase  Support  FAQs   Forum   ScreenShots & Demos

How to Share Google Storage Buckets with Other Google Storage Users?

Follow these steps below to share and access Google Storage bucket & its files/ folders.
How to share bucket with other Google Storage users?

Follow the steps to share a whole Google Storage bucket for collaboration:

  1. Run Bucket Explorer.
  2. Connect with your Google Storage account.
  3. Click on Tool menu.
  4. Select  >> Bucket Sharing >> Share my Bucket with a friend option.
  1. A new panel Share bucket with friends will open and will show you a list of all buckets.
  2. Select any bucket from the bucket list.
  3. Click on OK button.
  4. Access Control Permissions window will appear.
  5. Now give the desired access permissions to the users and save it.
  6. You're done. Enjoy the bucket sharing.

Follow these steps to access Google Storage bucket from your friend's account:

  1. [optional] Start Bucket Explorer and connect with your Google Storage account.
  2. Click on Tool menu.
  3. Go to Bucket Sharing >> Access Shared Bucket from a friend's account option.
  4. It will prompt you to enter the name of the shared bucket.
  5. Provide the shared bucket name and click on OK button.
  6. Now you can see your friend's bucket with shared bucket icon friend's Google Storage bucket icon in bucket listing.
  7. You have done it. Enjoy the Bucket accessing.

Follow these steps to Remove Shared Bucket(s) from Config:

  1. Run Bucket Explorer and connect with your Google Storage account.
  2. Click on Tool menu.
  3. Go to Bucket Sharing >> Removed Shared Bucket(s) from config option.
  4. A new panel will open which contains the list of all shared buckets.
  5. Select a bucket name that you want to remove.
  6. Click Remove button at Edit Third Party Bucket panel.
  7. It will remove  ‘Third Party bucket’ [2] or the Shared Bucket name from your Bucket listing table.

  1. ˆ  Start Bucket Explorer and connect with your Google Storage account This is optional ;If a bucket is shared with "  All Users  ", anybody can access that bucket whether he/she is registered or not with Google Storage. Hence, this step is optional. You may or may not connect to your Google Storage account.
  2. ˆ  Third Party bucket : A bucket that we are accessing from other's account. In Bucket Explorer, we call it a  Friend's Bucket  or a Third Party Bucket. Read/Write operations on such bucket depend on the permissions which can only be set by the bucket owner.

Related Topics:


 

Give us your feedback